The downtown Tiffin revitalization efforts have been hard at work helping to enhance the great events that downtown Tiffin has offered in the last few years and starting some others. One of the new ones this year is expected to take place every year - the Downtown Historic Bar Tour. Starting at the Clover Club, participants made their way through downtown Tiffin on South Washington Street, stopping at eight unique Tiffin bars. At the beginning of the tour, participants received a booklet with historical information about the bars and bar owners gave a brief history of their establishment at each stop. Kudos to tour host Seneca County Young Professionals for a great event. Here is the complete list of bars visited on the tour:
- Clover Club: Opened in 1936, the Clover Club features an antique art-deco bar, white tablecloth dining area and landscaped patio garden, not to mention 18 taps and a stock of 50 different beers.
- GW's Fine Food & Spirits: GW's opened in May 2010 and caters to not only the bar crowd but also the after-bar crowd with food service and late hours on the weekends. This bar features two dining areas and a large patio with seating.
- DP's: Don Paull has owned DP's since 1972, and it was one of the last 'stag' bars in Tiffin. DP's has a nautical theme and a unique layout with four different levels and a patio area closed in by the building's walls.
- MST Pub and Grub: MST is made up of three separate buildings, all of which served a variety of different purposes over the last 100 years. The current bar was established in October 2009.
- Reino's Party Room (lunch): Reino's Pizza and Pasta was established in 1950 and has always served beer and wine along with Italian food. Its current location on West Market Street was once the National Theater, among other businesses.
- Bear's Den:The Bear's Den has been a bar or tavern since the early 1950's. Dennis Wickert bought Izola's Tavern in 1974, later changed the name to Bear's Den and has been running the bar with his wife, Gwynn, since 1986. Bear's Den often hosts live music on Saturdays.
- Phat Cakes & Cafe: Phat Cakes was founded in 2009 and opened the store on Washington Street, which started out as The Sandwich Shop in the mid-1930s and was later Reino's, in 2012. They offer a full menu, including desserts, sandwiches, wraps and salads, along with alcohol.
- Viaduct Bar & Grill: The Viaduct started out as a bar in late 1800s. It has had many names since, but it has been the Viaduct since 2010. The bar often hosts live music on the weekends, and boasts a unique outdoor patio with seating and a pond.
- McGowan's Tavern: This building once housed "the largest movie theater on the West side of the river." For many years it was an "Arcade" under several different owners before becoming McGowan's Tavern in the mid-1960s.